- home - catalogue - order - updates - On playing Boccherini < editorial practice > the editor - links - contact -

 editionwakelkamp.com - editorial practice

This is an Urtext/critical edition, which means that the material is based on the original manuscript. Interpretation of the source is clear in this edition:
Beams and stems have their original lay-out as much as possible. Repeated accidentals have been preserved. All added accidentals have been placed between brackets. Changed notes are printed in small capture. The original notes (when changed by the editor) can be found in the editorial notes on the edition. Questionable slurs have been copied into the edition as they are in the original score. The original clefs have been replaced by modern ones and their original locations are indicated in the editorial notes. The source is either a Boccherini manuscript, or a contemporary copy if that is not available. Also, first and early editions (before 1830) can be used as a source or as a reference.

This is also a performers' edition:
No odd page turns can be found, no copies are necessary!

This is a growing edition, which started as a tribute to the Boccherini year 2005.
If you help by delivering sources, Finale™ files or MIDI-files of not yet published material, we can most certainly arrange an interesting deal for you. Please support this work by not making any copies but buying them from editionwakelkamp.com or your reseller.

This edition was chosen as the Preferred Edition for the National Cello Competition (Nationaal Cello Concours) of the Amsterdam Cello Biennales 2008 and 2010.

Original clefs versus modern clefs

The original clefs include 6 clefs and 3 octavations (maybe to be considered as 5 clefs and 4 octavations):
- treble clef (G2, to be played an octave lower than written);
- treble clef (G2 with two extra dots at the clef, to be played as written);
- soprano clef (C1);
- alto clef (C3) with octava alta sections;
- tenor clef (C4) with octava alta sections and
- bass clef (F4) with octava alta sections.

This edition reduces these 6 clefs and 3 octavations to only 3 more common clefs:
- treble clef (G2, to be played as written);
- tenor clef (C4) and
- bass (F4) clef.

The locations of the original clefs and octavations have been specified in the editorial notes.

Environmental issues

This edition is printed on FSC certified paper. Electricity and gas needed for the production of the master files is provided by Greenchoice (solar, water, wind and bio mass (excluding animal corpses etc.) electricity, compensation for CO2 gas emissions by planting trees). The printing process in iself might be more pollutive than necessary - I simply don't know.